So with all the research I've done these past few months I've come across the name Art Spiegelman quite a bit. He's the author of Maus so I knew he wrote graphic novels, but I had no idea about his other projects.

First, I discovered that's he's the founder of Toon Books. These graphic novels for primary students are the perfect introduction to graphic novels and especially great for English Language learners. I especially love that they are divided into grade levels, making it easy for teachers to make great choices for their students. Way to go Art!

Next, I discovered these great compilations put together by Spiegelman and his wife Francois Mouly called Little Lit. There are three compilations and they include short stories (in graphic novel format of course) by famous authors and artists. Some of my favorites include Neil Gaiman, Lemony Snicket, and J. Otto Seibold. These collections are great to have in the classroom as they are perfect to use in mini-lessons. You can use the short stories to teach theme, character, plot, and of course graphic novel features.

So in my opinion, pretty much anything Spiegelman touches is gold! When you get a chance, check out this graphic novel genius!




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Jenovia Chunyk and I'm an advocate for using graphic novels in the classroom. They have such enormous potential and most importantly, students love them!

    Please check back frequently for book recommendations, news, event information and more!

    Oh, and I'm a superhero on the derby track...so I know all about that! 

    Archives

    May 2012

    Categories

    All